Machin Forum Forum Index Machin Forum
THE place to discuss the definitive stamp
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question about digital microscopes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Machin Forum Forum Index -> Stamps In General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Paul
Gold Poster


Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:15 am    Post subject: Question about digital microscopes Reply with quote

I struggle sometimes to properly identify the source codes by eye on a few of the machins. Particularly the "long to reign over us" series where the source code is sliced by the oval slits. Is that an "S" or a "C"?

When I have tried scanning stamps on a regular scanner, the security text does not come through in the scan so my question is, will any of the microscopes available help in this respect? Also, are there any which combine with a UV lamp so that I could see something like shown in one of the recent Deegam reports with the phosphor band vignettes? If not via microscope, how are these images achieved?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phos45
Machin Man


Joined: 17 Aug 2007
Posts: 182
Location: canada

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:44 pm    Post subject: icard camera ... Reply with quote

cheaper than a micro ...

https://www.ebay.ca/sch/Publications-Supplies/83274/m.html?item=182117701169&hash=item2a670f9631%3Ag%3AvfEAAMXQLoZR01~5%5B%2Fimg%5D&_ssn=cbenbow

http://www.ebay.co.uk/bhp/uv-light-bulb
_________________
security and forgery machin collector ... http://machinstudygroup.blogspot.ca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Paul
Gold Poster


Joined: 20 Jul 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for sharing these links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gooner
Machin Man


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 1274
Location: England, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a warning (as it is not a cheap purchase).

I bought this after a similar recommendation but since upgrading to Windows 10 it does not seem to work.

I don't know if the upgrade is the issue or it is someone else.... It recognises the unit but just shows a blue screen and nothing else.
_________________
Regards
Dave
http://www.stamp-collector.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rankins
Newbie


Joined: 30 Dec 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's odd, Gooner. I use it fine and I have a Win 10 too. Did you try contacting the support?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Machin Forum Forum Index -> Stamps In General All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group